New report on online from faculty survey

A new online learning report has been published.  Consider what I think are two key questions from the report and comment if you’d like!

  1. Does the growth of online education excite or frighten you?
  2. Do your online and F2F classes produce the same learning outcomes?

Read more: http://www.insidehighered.com/news/survey/conflicted-faculty-and-online-education-2012

4 responses to “New report on online from faculty survey

  1. I am; excited by online education, and I think ICC is doing a great job with the Virtual Campus. We get quality education to fulfill our role as online teachers, and our students are primed to learn online.

    Do my F2F classes and onlines have the same outcomes? Yes! In some ways, I think my online students have a better learning experience because (if they’re properly prepared) they don’t come in with a dependance on the teacher. Students with the best attitudes toward online learning really own their experience and see it more as a learning opportunity and less as something to “sit through” to be “given” credit. Of course, not all online students have this attitude . . . 🙂

  2. Well it definitely does not frighten me. I believe the future holds that we will see less “mortar and brick” and more online delivery of courses. As technology becomes more available and persons more accepting, I think the days of sitting in a classroom are numbered (if nothing else, because of economics of building and maintaining structures, etc.). Even now the use of software such as Elluminate provide a tool for asynchronous communication between faculty and students, lectures can be live or recorded for those absent, students can view the instructors white board or desktop, etc, Technology at some point will allow holographic images of instructors and even “events” to appear in ones home or workplace and with these technological milestones will come less and less reason to commute to a specific location to take course.

    The question “are learning outcomes the same”, I believe depends on all shareholders. Shareholders have to become accept that technology can definitely improve the online classroom to the point that it is at a minimum equal to the F-2-F classroom and in many cases superior to it. I believe this is not just a shift in mode of delivery but a paradigm shift in how we educate people.

  3. Susan Hillabold

    I don’t believe the outcomes for my F2F and my online classes are the same. Part of this is that some of my online students are unprepared for the amount of reading and testing I apply to their reading. In my F2F classes, even my weak students get verbal help from me and the others in my class. For this reason, I will not advise some weak-reading students to take an online course, but I will for those who show self-discipline and read voraciously.
    That study was flawed in a number of ways when it came to analyzing motivation. For example, they seemed surprised that professors, despite their view that the online courses do not provide the same outcomes, would counsel a student to take an online course. This assumes that all students are the same. This is not true. I have some students that an online experience would benefit, allowing them to expand on their learning opportunities. For others, I think an online course would be a disaster.
    For this reason, I think we need to vet which students take an online course and which would be much happier in a F2F. I’ve had students tell me that they really need the structure of the F2F and that they were not prepared for the work load the online course demanded of them, and so they drop my class. I’m guessing here, but I bet we have a higher attrition rate for our online courses than we do for the F2F for this very reason: preparedness. And this is not what came out of that study.

  4. Michelle Nielsen Ott

    I agree with a lot of what has already been said. I have never actually taught F2F my classes have all been online. Nearly all of ICC’s LTA program is online. I do see some of the weaker readers struggle at the beginning of the online class but I always see the most improvement from them. Their online communication skils improve tremendously over the semester and that is a very important skill to gain.

Leave a Reply

